Marriage Licenses for the Alabama Coast are issued at the central office located in Bay Minette, AL, Baldwin County, Monday through Friday between the hours of 8 am and 3 pm. Please arrive NLT 2:30 pm to prevent delays. Bay Minette is situated in the North Central end of Baldwin County and is about an hour drive along Alabama Highway 59 North from the beaches. It is advantageous to pick up your marriage license prior to traveling to the beaches.
The legal age to marry in Alabama is 18. However, if you are
16 to 17, you may obtain a license if both parents are present
with valid identification and they consent in writing. You also
must provide a copy of your Birth Certificate certified by the
State, County or other foreign issued forms of identification.
A non-certified hospital birth record will not be accepted.
A Social Security card must also be presented.
If you are 18, the only acceptable form of Identification is a
copy of your birth certificate, certified by the State or County. Again, a non-certified hospital birth record WILL NOT be accepted. A Social Security card must also be presented.
If you are 19 or older, you must bring one of the following forms of identification: a valid driver's license, a copy of your birth certificate certified by the State or County, a military identification, a certified school record, or other Foreign issued forms of identification. A Social Security card must also be presented.
You may not apply for a license within 60 days after your divorce was granted unless you are remarrying your former spouse.
A marriage license is valid in Alabama for 30 days from the date it is issued. A premarital blood test is no longer required in Alabama and there is no required waiting period after the license is purchased.
The prospective Bride and Groom must be present to obtain a marriage license. The fee for a Marriage License is $40.00 and can be obtained at Baldwin County Judges Probate Office:
220 Courthouse Square
Bay Minette, AL 36507
(251) 937-0260 ext. 2224
Fax (251) 937-0252
The only acceptable form of payment is cash. A certified copy of your marriage certificate will be mailed to you.
Florida Marriage License
Every marriage license is issued by a County Court Judge or Clerk of the Circuit Court under his or her hand and seal. Marriage license are issued by counties and you can apply for your license at any county clerk's office. Click Here for Clerk of the Court contact information by county. You can get married in any county in Florida, regardless of where the marriage license is obtained. To obtain an Escambia County marriage license you need:
A picture ID such as a driver's license, state ID card, or valid passport,
both parties will also have to provide the Social Security numbers
but, do not need to provide their Social Security Cards.
$93.50 Marriage license fees can be reduced by up to $32.50 if you
complete a licensed Florida pre-marital course.
Marriage license is valid for 60 days after issuance. You must perform the ceremony of marriage before this 60 days
has expired. Blood Tests are not required. There is a 3-day waiting period after issuance of the license before you can get married unless you have completed the Florida pre-marital course, in which case, the waiting period is waved. Florida Marriage Statutes can be found here: